Month: April 2009

  • Crew Updates::

    Featuring Crew Awkward Teen Hunger Force -

    Battle 2::

    Battle 1::

    Team love, fasho fasho

       -duncan

  • Crew Updates::

    Featuring Soul Alive?
    Well, I guess more like- Jacob Lee, and Soul Alive. Heh; alright alrigh, I’m pretty biased in my coverage, but there were a bazzillion crews- I gotta be selective ‘somehow’ right?

    Featuring… well, random people wearing FLI shirts and people in their crews.. yeah. And, well; a lot of Jenkin, because he was the co-ord that invited me to shoot =p

    Featuring MSU Crew; because my friend knows a friend – yeah, one of those

      -duncan

  • Flash photography is an interesting thing; many people get flashes to
    give that extra boost of light because fast lenses with big fatty
    apertures/glass are just extremely expensive. However, a lot of people
    just don’t know how to control their light! And, there are many
    situations where your little boost of light just becomes a flood of
    ‘white’ for someone else. (I would imagine flash photography to be
    pretty darned annoying if you’re breaking/dancing and someone has their
    flash pointed straight at your face)

    Someone had their flash diffuser attached to their flash, but weren’t
    even using it- it was pretty whack; I don’t know why people do that
    =_=;;

    More flash woes- yes… beautiful pictures from spill-in flash light =)

    Someone is foofing their light on the ceiling! Very nice; Good technique for soft light =)

    The one cool thing about flashes- someone randomly taking a picture at the same time that you do; awesome backlight subjects!

       -duncan

  • Reviving the blog…

    I had the opportunity of shooting the annual breakdance competition, IL Breaks, which is hosted at the UofI each year-

    It was a really awesome experience, and I definitely learned a lot about shooting this kinda stuff, and also more about my camera (1D Mark IIN- a very confusing camera, indeed!)

    Here’s a sequence of BBoy Blond – Extreme Crew, who came from Korea to give workshops and to judge the competition.

    BBoy Kid David – Renegades; I think he came from Cali? to judge the event

    BBoy Check-It – Chicago Tribe; Also came to judge the event

    Continuing on with my gradual posting-
    One of the good things about carrying a big camera around, with big lenses (well, I guess medium sized lenses, since I’ve reduced my gearbag to consist of primes), is that people kinda are more lenient with you when you walk around. Big cameras lets you go places =)

    Showcasing, DJ Skeme Richards-

    Showcasing, DJ Franco De Leon-
    Some awesome stuff; I actually heard of him from a friend, before I got to IL Breaks, about a DJ who would do live production (aka, while he’s DJ’ing, he’ll mix in live instruments and loop it in the track- at least, that’s my understanding of it). Pretty sweet stuff! I bought two of his CD’s afterwards. haha =)

       -duncan