December 31, 2008

  • "where the heck is that 'new entry' button?"

    i find it somewhat amusing, that i'm totally lost with all the small little bells and whistles that xanga has put on, since the last time i really was a xanga-poweruser; i couldn't even figure out how to make a new blog post- i was hovering my mouse over everything i could find. heh

    no picture post for now; i might do a short photoshoot of my car, Howard, the Honda Civic Sedan LX. it's kinda a big deal that i have a car, considering that i only recently got my driver's licence (as in, i didn't know how to drive... at all) in June, and shortly after, got my car in July- and i'll tell you, i had some crazy times with driving- about a week after i got the car, i drove up from chicago, to indiana for a church retreat; it's not the best thing to do since Howard was still in the breaking-in stages; but that's besides the point- on the drive up to indiana, i miscalculated my stopping power and ended up slamming the breaks, and ended up in the middle of an intersection; yeah. crazy times

    people do ask me why i named my car as a guy- i don't really know; i think i figured that since i called my GPS, Sexy-Voice (trust me, it makes for a good name; "take the next left turn", and i'll reply, "yes, Sexy-Voice, whatever you say"- okay; maybe not that funny but i find it amusing), i figured that i had to balance it out and i named my car Howard. i also didn't even think about trying to find a name that started with an 'H', in lieu of having a 'Honda', but- it just turned out that way.

     recently, (as in, last night) i went perfect-me on cooking, and learning how to cook. i think it started when i watched 'Kitchen Nightmares' with my roommate, Marky Mark Paik. all i have to say is, Gordon Ramsay is the man; sure, he's a jerk- but he's brilliant! so since then, i've been wanting to pick up one of his cook books- the only thing that's been holding me back is, well, the frequency of travel that i've been making from Chicago to Champaign, and, the cost of one of his cook-books. ironically, i ended up picking up one of Jamie Oliver's cook books, which touches more on the foundations of cooking. here, i'll even link a picture of the book, just so that this post won't be so dry and picture-less. the book can be found on amazon, if you want to check it out- Cook with Jamie

    but that isnt even the extent to which i've been going perfect-me (by the way, i keep using this term 'perfect-me', which is used to denote the sinful desire of my heart; the desire which seeks satisfaction, apart from being satisfied in God alone; see Heart Motives, and i guess look up Total Depravity - please note that i did not read this actual page on total depravity, i just didn't want to use a wikipedia definition. lol; hopefully the site i linked won't be heretic *shifty eyes*)

    (wow, i just realized that was a long aside); but to gain more insight to the depth of my sin, the items that i've been looking at purchasing on amazon: Cooking Tools List, which was created through a couple hours of researching 'the best of the best'.
    by the way, do check out ConsumerSearch.com, it's a nice site for reviews, that i ran across while reveling in my perfect-me sin.
    also, youtube: ChefToddMohr has been immensely helpful in understanding a lot of the foundations in cooking

    well, i guess this concludes this post-
    pictures of my Iro fixie cycle, and Howard the Honda will be posted in the near future, i hope; i have nothing else to take pictures of. heh

       -duncan

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *